Mortuary Science Continuing Education
As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.40, subdivision 1, morticians and funeral directors must renew their license to practice before December 31 of each year.
If you are renewing your license to practice for the 2021 calendar year, and your license ends in an odd number, you are required to submit a continuing education (CE) report form with your renewal application and application fees. Minnesota Statutes, Section 149A.40, Subd 11 requires 15 hours of CE with your renewal. Your CE report requires nine hours in the following areas:
- Body preparation, care or handling, 3 CE hours
- Professional practices, 3 CE hours
- Regulation and ethics, 3 CE hours
Please note you may be required to complete one hour of CE as required by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) (PDF). OSHA CE hours count for credit towards your 15 hours of CE under body preparation care and handling, regulation and ethics or general categories.
Application for Approval
If your license number ends in an ODD number, you must submit CE hours that you earned from January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2020.
Print copies of the 2021 CE Reporting Form (PDF). You may make copies of this form as needed.
If you have completed ALL 15 hours, complete the CE report and upload it during your online renewal.
If you DO NOT have all 15 hours completed due to the COVID-19 peacetime emergency:
- Submit your renewal application and fee online.
- Once you have earned your 15 hours of CE, email them to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Send an email to email@example.com by January 31, 2021 to request an extension of the due date for your CE report, and provide the reasons you were not able to obtain 15 continuing education hours over the last two years.
We will respond to your request within 30 days.
Approved Continuing Education Programs
The following calendar contains information on approved continuing education programs. If there is a continuing education program that offers credit and the program is not listed on the calendar, we may require additional information about the course.
Continuing Education Courses from the following organizations are accepted:
- Minnesota Funeral Directors Association
- National Funeral Directors Association
- Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice
- Cremation Association of North America
- The Conference
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Courses listed are available in Minnesota AND nationwide.