
Minors’ Consent for Health Care
C O N S E N T  F LO W C H A R T

Person under 18 years old requests the following care:
• Emergency care — Sec. 144.344 MN Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.344)
• Pregnancy-related care — Sec. 144.343 MN Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.343)
• STI diagnosis and treatment — Sec. 144.343 MN Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.343)
• Alcohol or drug use evaluation — Sec. 253B.04 MN Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/253B.04)
• Contraceptive care* — Sec. 144.343 MN Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.343)
• Abortion services** — Sec. 144.343 MN Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.343)
• Hepatitis B vaccination — Sec. 144.3441 MN Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.3441)

YES NO

Minor meets any of the following criteria:
• Living separately from parent/guardian and managing 

their own finances — Sec. 144.341 MN Statutes 
(www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.341)

• Married — Sec. 144.342 MN Statutes 
(www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.342)

• Has given birth to a child — Sec. 144.342 MN Statutes 
(www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/144.342)

Minor may 
consent to care

Parent/guardian 
must consent to 

minor’s care
NO

YES

This document provides general information only and does not constitute legal advice or consult from the Minnesota Department of Health. 
Please consult your agency’s policies, procedures, and legal counsel for information specific to your practice.

Persons 16 and 17 years of 
age may consent to the 
following mental health care:
• Outpatient mental health 

services — Sec. 144.3431 MN 
Statutes (www.revisor.mn.gov/
statutes/cite/144.3431)

• Admission to an inpatient 
mental health or alcohol and 
drug treatment facility — Sec. 
253B.04 MN Statutes (www.
revisor.mn.gov/statutes/
cite/253B.04)

December 2024

Minor may 
consent to care

*Contraceptive care:
Minn. Op. Att’y Gen. 494-b-39, August 25, 1972, Minnesota Attorney General 
stated that the practice of giving contraceptives to minors without parental 
consent by physicians is not criminal conduct.

**Parental Notification for Abortion Services: According to the Minnesota 
Attorney General Abortion and Reproductive Health Rights (www.ag.state.
mn.us/AbortionRights/), the statute requiring parental notification by providers 
who counsel an unemancipated minor on abortion services or who provide 
abortion services to an emancipated minor has been enjoined by a Minnesota 
judge and is currently unenforceable. (Doe v. State, Case No. 62-CV-19-3868, 
2022 WL 2662998 (Minn. Dist. Ct. July 11, 2022).
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