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1. Authority

The Minnesota Department of Health is authorized, pursuant to Minn. Stat. §149A.06, to order
corrections and assess administrative penalties in an amount up to $10,000.00 per violation for violations

of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 149A.

1. Findings of Fact

1. On November 6, 2015 the Minnesota Department of Health received a complaint regarding the
incompletion and falsification of a Release of Human Remains Document required by the state

of Wisconsin.

2. Barth A. Humlie is a licensed Mortician (M-2726) employed by Morris Nilsen Funeral Home.
Barth A. Humlie also holds a license to practice mortuary science in the state of Wisconsin.

3. Barth A. Humlie gave permission and direction to a Minnesota licensed mortician to forge his
name and Wisconsin license number in order to complete documentation for the possession and
transport of dead human remains from the state of Wisconsin.

4. In addition, Barth A. Humlie asked for and received compensation from Thomson Dougherty
Funeral Home for the use of his name and Wisconsin license number while engaging in an act of

Forgery.

L. Violation Reference

Minn. Stat. § 149A.70, subd.4 Solicitation of Business states:

No licensee shall directly or indirectly pay or cause to be paid any sum of money or other valuable
consideration for the securing of business or for obtaining the authority to dispose of any dead human

body.

For purposes of this subdivision, licensee includes a registered intern or any agent, representative,
employee, or person acting on behalf of the licensee.

Minn. Stat. § 149A.70, subd.7 (3) states:

No licensee or intern shall engage in or permit others under the licensee’s or intern’s supervision or
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employment to engage in unprofessional conduct. Unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to:

(3) Knowingly making a false statement in the procuring, preparation, or filing of any required permit or
document.

Minn. Stat. § 149A.93, subd.5. Death Outside State; Disposition Permit states:

When a death occurs outside of the state and the body travels into or through this state, the body must be
accompanied by a permit for burial, removal, or other disposition issued in accordance with the laws and
rules of the state where the death occurred.

IV. Conclusion

1. Barth A. Humlie assisted in the act of providing a false statement in the procuring, preparation, and
filing of a required permit or document.

2. Barth A. Humlie allowed a Minnesota licensed mortician to use his signature and license number in an
act of forgery to complete a Wisconsin document for the possession and transfer of human remains (the
decedent) when never himself having possession of the body. Barth A. Humlie deceitfully represented
his signature and Wisconsin license number for the filing of records in the state of Wisconsin.

V. Corrective Order

It is ordered that, before the 31 day after Barth A. Humlie receives this order, he must demonstrate, IN
WRITING, that the corrective actions specified herein have been taken or that he has taken appropriate
steps toward correcting the violation and that he has a plan for full compliance.

If Barth A. Humlie fails to demonstrate that the corrective actions specified below have been taken or
appropriate steps toward correction of the violation specified above have been taken, within the 30-day
period, the forgivable penalty assessed will become due and payable as described in section VI. -

Barth A. Humlie shall develop a plan to correct the violation within the 30-day period. The plan must be
approved by the Department. Failure to comply with the approved plan shall be cause for subsequent -
enforcement action.

The following corrective actions are required by this order:

On or before March 15, 2017, Barth A. Humlie must attend continuing education course(s) and complete
a total of at least 10 CEUs on the proper protocol for taking possession of and transporting human
remains from another state, obtaining proper authorization and documentation including valid signatures
for a death that occurs outside the state of Minnesota, and funeral ethics including completing a separate
CE course that addresses the same areas which pertain to Wisconsin funeral law, as follows:

1. The continuing education course(s) must be conducted by a provider that is approved by the
Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section on or before March 15, 2017. Barth A.
Humlie must identify upcoming continuing education course(s) that would satisfy the above
requirement and must submit to the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section, for
the Department’s approval, a written outline of the course that includes the course content and
objectives; an overall number of continued education units allowed for this course; and the name and
title of the instructor with contact information. After approval of the proposed continuing education
course by the Department, Barth A. Humlie must attend the continuing education course. In addition,
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Barth A. Humlie shall do an extensive review of both MN Chapter 149A and Wisconsin Funeral Law
and provide the Minnesota Department of Health an essay on how the laws from both states apply to
the areas of violation.

2. Inthe event that Barth A. Humlie (1) is, by March 15, 2017, after reasonable inquiry, unable to
identify a continuing education course that meets the above requirements; or (2) there is no -
continuing education course that meets the above requirements which is offered on or before March
15, 2017, he shall submit the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section, a written
request for an extension of time.

3. Within five working days after-attending the approved course(s), Barth A. Humlie must submit to the
Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section a copy of the completion certificate, the
name of the continuing education course, the number of continuing education units recelved and the
date and time that the course was held.

VI. PENALTY ASSESSMENT
Forgivable Penalty Assessment

Barth A. Humlie is assessed a FORGIVABLE administrative pénalty of $500 for the violation described
in Sections II and III.

If Barth A. Humlie demonstrates, IN WRITING, within 30 days of receipt of this order, that the
corrective actions have been taken, or that appropriate steps have been taken toward correcting the
violation, which may include the development of a plan for correction, this penalty will be fo_rgiven.

If Barth A. Humlie fails to demonstrate that the corrective actions have been taken, or that appropriate
steps have been taken toward correcting the violation, the assessed penalty becomes DUE AND
PAYABLE on the 31st day after this order was received. A plan to correct the violation may be
developed within the 30-day time period for corrective action. The plan must be approved by the
Department. Failure to comply with the approved plan shall be cause for subsequent enforcement action.

Non-forgivable Penalty Assessment

Barth A. Humlie is also assessed a NONFORGIVABLE penalty of $3,500.00 for the violations described
in Sections II and III.

The penalty shall be paid by certified check or money order payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.”
The payment must be submitted to the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section within
30 days of the date of receipt of this order.

1. Licensee may pay the $3,500.00 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to six months after the
effective date of this action. If licensee chooses to make installments, he must notify MDH in writing
about his intentions, including how many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over
which time period. Licensee must send this information to: Investigation and Enforcement Unit,
Mortuary Science Program, MDH, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882.

2. . Each payment must be made by check or money order payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota” and
mailed to; Investigation and Enforcement Unit, Mortuary Science Section, MDH, PO Box 64882,
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882. Each. payment is due by the last day of each month; however, licensee
may prepay at any time.



3. The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue (MDOR), or any other source
of collection, if the debt is 14 days past the established due date. When this determination for a
penalty becomes public and MDH refers the matter to MDOR, MDOR is authorized by Minnesota
Statutes, section 16D.17 to obtain a judgement against licensee without further notice or proceeding.

VIL. REQUEST FOR HEARING

You may appeal this order by requesting a hearing. The hearing request must be in writing and delivered
to the Department of Health by certified mail within 20 days after you receive this order. The request
must state the specific reasons for seeking a review of the order. The Minnesota Department of Health
will initiate a hearing within 30 days of receiving a request for a hearing.

G .
SO ORDERED this o 0 day of Z)ﬂ..,.uw\ QO/F

Lofade

Susan Winkelmann

Assistant Division Director
Health Regulation Division
Minnesota Department of Health
85 East Seventh Place

P.O. Box 64900

St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900

Direct correspondence and any appeals to: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Mortuary Science Section,
Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882.





